Burundi, a small country with 11.57 million people

Credit: britannica.com

Burundi is in East Africa.

East Africa has 18 countries: Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea,  Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe, South Sudan


Burundi (officially called Republic of Burundi) is a small country in Africa.

Flags of West Africa countries and what they represent

The capital of Burundi

Gitega City,Credit: africanexponent.com

Gitega (formerly Kitega) is the capital of  Burundi. Located in the centre of the country, in the Burundian central plateau roughly 62 kilometres (39 mi) east of Bujumbura (the largest city and former capital),

The official languages of Burundi

Kirundi and French.

Natural resources:

Cobalt and copper. Coffee and sugar are major exports.


67 percent of the population practice Christianity, with Roman Catholics totaling 62 percent of all Burundians. The remaining percentages of the population are Protestant and Anglican. Indigenous religions account for 23 percent of the population. Muslims are 10 percent, the majority of which are Sunni.

The current president of Burundi

Credit: bbc.com

 Évariste Ndayishimiye, since 18 June 2020.


Burundi has a population of about 11.57 million people as of 2019.

Labour force by occupation

Agriculture: 93.6% , Industry: 2.3%, Services: 4.1%

Flag and what it stands for

White colour of the saltire represents peace, green represents the nation’s hopes placed on future development and red symbolizes the suffering of the nation during its freedom struggle. The three stars in triangular configuration stand for the three major ethnic groups of Burundi: the Hutu, the Twa and the Tutsi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here